如来 nyorai

D 250 726
Buddha as an art object

The history of sculpture in Japan began around the middle of 6th century, when Buddhism was introduced from Korea and production of this new religion's icons ensued. From then until the end of the Edo period (1600-1868), the genre of Japanese sculpture had largely be dominated by Buddhism. Buddhist sculptures can be divided into four major categories: nyorai, bôsatsu, myô-ô und ten. The changing expression of Buddhist statues according also to the techniques and materials used - like bronze, clay, dry lacquer, wood etc..

» Amida-nyorai
» Dainichi-nyorai
» Shaka-nyorai